120 days of AMAL Reflection

Muhammad Usama Hameed
3 min readFeb 13, 2021

--

“Everything in your life is a reflection of a choice you have made. If you want a different result, make a different choice.”

I’m doing a Bachelor’s of Software Engineering from COMSATS University Islamabad, Pakistan. I always try to do something crazy, something different, something funny, and something impossible in my life. Every time preferred extracurricular activities over my boring subjects since my school and college days.

“Just because you fail once, doesn’t mean you’re gonna fail at everything. Keep trying, hold on, and always, always, always believe in yourself, because if you don’t, then who will, sweetie?” -Marilyn Monroe

For the last 4 years, I have taken my life’s best decisions without even knowing the end results. Here is one of those decisions. On September 20, 2020, I saw a post of Amal Career Preparation Fellowship on my Facebook. It hit my mind why not try something new in this COVID pandemic. So I applied and completed a competitive written application and interview process and selected from over 5500 applicants.

www.amalacademy.org

Here I will discuss my positive journey of 120 days with Amal. It is impossible in a single blog to share all thoughts and memories. So I will share some valuable lessons.

“Knowing yourself is the beginning of all wisdom.” (Aristotle)

The first and most important lesson is to know about yourself, What are your habits, weaknesses, strengths, values, and principles? What are your traits, qualities, accomplishments, praise, and aptitude? What are your personal interests, vocation, and smart goals?

Steve Jobs

Knowing yourself starts with identifying these above questions but it does not end with that. It is a whole journey that lasts your entire life, and it requires a commitment you otherwise, it is all useless. Skills and abilities can always be learned, thoughts can always be changed, time will not always remain the same, weaknesses can always be tackled or even removed entirely. You just need to put in the effort required to master it.

During these 120 days, I tried to connect my dots looking backward and as a result, my thoughts become somehow cleared but I am still trying. As change doesn’t happen overnight you have started working on yourself daily.

During the start of the fellowship, I promised myself to identify my weakness and work on improving them without hesitating. It helped me to learn and experience new things. I always wanted to share my thoughts by writing blogs but always have a fear of my friend’s feedback. I always wanted to share my thoughts by writing blogs but scared of my friend’s feedback. And also thought that I required perfect words or grammar for writing a blog. But on January 2, 2021, with a fear of failure, I wrote my first blog and publish it on medium.

After a few moments, I realize that I have carried a useless fear of failure in my mind. And then in the same month, I wrote two mores. I come to know that I don’t have any limits. Without ALLAH wills no one can stop me from growing forward.

You are never too late to start working on yourself.

USAMA OUT….🥳

--

--